MADISON — Gov. Tony Evers announced today the State of Wisconsin Building Commission approved a total of approximately $69 million in key projects across the state.

“Ensuring our state’s public infrastructure is strong and ready to carry our communities and campuses into the future is critically important,” said Gov. Evers. “From new projects at our state parks, to the development of the new state office building in Milwaukee, to sustainable, renewable energy sources at UW-Platteville, we are investing in Wisconsin’s future.”

The approved list of projects includes land purchase and site development for the new Milwaukee State Office Building. The new state office building will focus on consolidating and co-locating agency functions and will be a catalyst for neighborhood revitalization, bringing new developments and job opportunities in one of Milwaukee’s key commercial corridors, while supporting significant public and private investments in the Near West Side.

Additional highlights of the approvals include:

  • Grant release for 16 Department of Natural Resources Friends Group projects;
  • Construction of the Klotsche Center Annex Addition at UW-Milwaukee;
  • Construction of the Campus Fire Alarm System Renovation at UW-Parkside;
  • Construction of lab and classroom renovation projects for UW-Oshkosh and UW-Eau Claire for the Classroom Renovations/Instructional Technology Improvements program;
  • Construction of infrastructure renovation/replacement projects for UW-Madison for the Minor Facilities Renewal program;
  • Construction of 15 maintenance and repair projects located at various locations in 10 counties across the state for the Departments of Corrections, Military Affairs, Health Services, and the UW-System; and
  • Two energy conservation projects including a renewable energy project to install a solar photovoltaic array at UW-Platteville.

The Building Commission is chaired by Gov. Evers and is comprised of the following members:

  • State Senator Janis Ringhand;
  • State Senator Jerry Petrowski;
  • State Senator Andre Jacque;
  • State Representative Jill Billings;
  • State Representative Rob Swearingen;
  • State Representative Robert Wittke; and
  • Citizen member Summer Strand.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email