MILWAUKEE, WI—The Milwaukee Press Club today announced that Gloria Borger, CNN chief political analyst, is the club’s 2021 Sacred Cat Award honoree. The award, given annually since 1973, recognizes excellence in journalism at the national level.

Borger will accept the award at the club’s annual Gridiron Awards event, a virtual program set for 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 19.

The club also will honor its 2021 Headliners, John W. Daniels, Jr., Chairman Emeritus of Quarles & Brady and Bob and Susan Mikulay, of St. Croix Productions, who are long-time community volunteers and board members at non-profit organizations throughout the Milwaukee area.
Winners of the press club’s 2020 Excellence in Wisconsin Journalism competition also will be recognized announced.

The honorees were announced last year, but the 2020 Gridiron was canceled because of the pandemic.

“Gloria Borger is a highly respected journalist who offers insightful analysis of the nation’s political scene. Her common sense and calm approach are of tremendous value, especially now, when fact-based journalism is desperately needed,” said Milwaukee Press Club President Corri Hess.

Borger is CNN’s chief political analyst, appearing regularly on The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer, Anderson Cooper’s AC360 and across the network’s primetime programs. Borger plays an instrumental role in CNN’s daily coverage while reporting on a variety of political and breaking news stories, including midterm and presidential elections, Supreme Court rulings and Congressional investigations.

Prior to joining CNN, Borger had stints at CBS News, CNBC, Newsweek, U.S. News & World Report and The Washington Star. Borger is a graduate of Colgate University and has served on its board of trustees.

Past Sacred Cat honorees include Chuck Todd, Megan Twohey and Jodi Kantor, David Fahrenthold, Marty Baron, Ann Compton, Jonathan Alter, Cokie Roberts, Walter Cronkite, Malcolm Forbes, Judy Woodruff, Michael Bloomberg and David Maraniss.

The Headliner Awards are presented annually to those who are making a positive difference in Wisconsin.

John W. Daniels Jr. is chairman emeritus of the Quarles & Brady law firm in Milwaukee. A national real estate and business expert, he is a strategic business advisor to many of the firm’s largest clients, champion of diversity and inclusion, thought leader, prominent community volunteer, agent of organizational and civic change, and crusader for high-quality education and access to it.

His personal motto, which has become a core firm value, is, “Everybody counts, every day.” Daniels received an undergraduate degree at North Central College; a master degree at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and a law degree at Harvard Law School.

Bob and Susan Mikulay have served as community volunteers and board members throughout the Milwaukee area, particularly in the areas of education, the arts and improving the lives of Milwaukee’s underserved communities. Non-profit organizations they have helped include Penfield Children’s Center, Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design (MIAD), Milwaukee Film, College Possible Milwaukee, and the Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Milwaukee where Bob is the board president.

Each also has achieved success in the corporate sector. Bob Mikulay is the retired executive vice president of sales and marketing for the Miller Brewing Company and now advises small businesses and start-up ventures on all aspects of business planning and development. He is also board chairman of City Lights Brewing Company, one of Milwaukee’s leading craft breweries.

Susan Mikulay is an executive communications consultant advising on strategic planning, public speaking and message management. She is an accomplished writer, theater producer and the founder and president of St. Croix Productions.

Past Headliner honorees include Martin Schreiber, Mary Lou Young, Gary Grunau, Juli Kaufmann, Carmen Pitre, Howard Fuller, Ted Kellner, Hannah Rosenthal, Ricardo Diaz, Linda Mellowes, Michael Pink, Barry Alvarez, Jane Pettit, Bud Selig, James Lovell, Ben Marcus and Steve Marcus.

Registration is available for the Gridiron Awards Virtual Ceremony at www.milwaukeepressclub.orgRegistration deadline is Friday, May 14. The cost is $25 per individual. Full-time students should register but there is no charge to them – the cost for their participation is being underwritten by the MPC Endowment LtdThose who register will received a link on the afternoon of the event to view it live.

Corporate sponsorships are available for $500 (includes registration for eight individuals, company logo in virtual program and Once A Year magazine and verbal recognition during the program). Sponsorship/advertising information can be found here.

Founded in 1885, the Milwaukee Press Club is the oldest continuously operating press club in North America. Its members represent a diverse community of media-focused professionals from nearly every local media outlet, a strong contingent of public relations and marketing professionals and others with an interest in journalism and news media.

To view past Sacred Cat Awards:

For past Headliner Awards:

Thank you to our event sponsors:

Defender Sponsors:
Kane Communications Group
We Energies

Print Friendly, PDF & Email