MADISON – Today, the Wisconsin Assembly Republicans passed their partisan legislative redistricting maps. Assembly Bill 624/Senate Bill 621 aim to ensure Republicans in the Wisconsin State Legislature maintain their majority through extreme gerrymandering. Representative Dianne Hesselbein (D-Middleton), a longstanding proponent for a fair and non-partisan map drawing process, made the following comment during the debate:

“In 2011, Wisconsin Republicans used taxpayer money to draw the most partisan gerrymandered maps in history. Republican legislators held secret meetings behind closed doors, took secrecy oaths to hide their actions, and constructed district maps in private law offices away from public and government eyes.

“Those maps are no different than the maps being discussed today. In fact, these maps are best described as gerrymandering 2.0, as my Republican colleagues seek to insulate their hold on power for another ten years.

“There is a better way. We have been advocating for Iowa Model of non-partisan redistricting for what feels like forever. When I was elected everyone was excited about the non-partisan redistricting bill that was introduced by newly elected Democratic legislators. When the next group of new Democratic legislators was elected they reintroduced the bill again with Republican support. We could have done this different.

“I have a list of 32 counties (plus 21 municipalities) that have passed a Fair Maps Referendum: Adams County, Ashland County, City of Barron, Bayfield County, Brown County, Buffalo County, City of Appleton, Crawford County, Dane County, Door County, Dunn County, Eau Claire County, Iowa County, Jefferson County, Kenosha County, La Crosse County, Lincoln County, Marquette County, Milwaukee County, Monroe County, Crescent, Hazelhurst, Lake Tomahawk, Town of Newbold, Pelican, Pine Lake, Rhinelander, Woodruff, Outagamie County, Pierce County, Polk County, Portage County, City of Racine, Wind Point, Richland County, Rock County, Rusk County, St. Croix County, Sauk County, Trempealeau County, Vernon County, Arbor Vitae, Boulder Junction, Eagle River, Lac du Flambeau, Land O’Lakes, Manitowish Waters, Phelps, Presque Isle, Winchester, Waushara County, Winnebago County, and Wood County.

“Results of these referendums are clear. If you don’t want to listen to me, listen to your voters.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email