WASHINGTON, D.C. – Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-WI) yesterday joined members of the China Task Force in calling on Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo and Special Presidential Envoy for Climate John Kerry to receive an immediate briefing on threats posed by the Chinese Communist Party (CCP).
“We are gravely concerned by both the tone and language being used by high-ranking Biden Administration officials, including Secretary Raimondo and Special Envoy Kerry. Neither of them appear to grasp the true threat posed by the Chinese Communist Party even though FBI Director Wray just last week said, ‘The greatest long-term threat to our nation’s information and intellectual property, and to our economic vitality, is the counterintelligence and economic espionage threat from China. It’s a threat to our economic security— and by extension, to our national security.’ We are calling on these officials to immediately receive a threat briefing and review the broken promises, theft of intellectual property, rampant economic espionage, and blatant coercion of American citizens that has resulted over decades of assuming commercial engagement would prevent tensions. President Biden must provide Congress with a comprehensive strategy, and disavow corporate backchannel negotiations, in addressing the CCP for what it is rather than what we hope it will be.”
The statement comes Raimondo recently told The Wall Street Journal, “Robust commercial engagement will help mitigate potential tensions…and prevent unintended conflict,” and after Kerry recently dismissed the genocide currently being perpetrated by the Chinese Communist Party, saying, “life is always full of tough choices…but first and foremost, this planet must be protected.”
The China Task Force is chaired by Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX). In addition to Rep. Gallagher, its members include: Reps. Liz Cheney (R-WY), Andy Barr (R-KY), Michael Waltz (R-FL), Anthony Gonzalez (R-OH), Darin LaHood (R-IL), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA), Chris Stewart (R-UT), Robert J. Wittman (R-VA), Scott Perry (R-PA), Neal Dunn (R-FL), Mark Green (R-TN), Mike Garcia (R-CA), Austin Scott (R-GA), Diana Harshbarger (R-TN) and Young Kim (R-CA).
Print Friendly, PDF & Email