MADISON, WI—Today, the Speaker of the House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi announced Representative Mark Pocan (WI-02) as one of her newly appointed members to the Joint Economic Committee. The Joint Economic Committee is one of four standing joint committees comprising of bipartisan members from both the House of Representatives and Senate. In the House of Representatives, members are selected to the committee directly by the Speaker of the House.

“I thank Speaker Pelosi for appointing to me to this important committee as we lead our nation from this deadly crisis through economic recovery,” said Congressman Pocan. “The bicameral and bipartisan nature of this committee ensures that across aisles and legislative bodies, Congress can come together to work for the American people. As a small business owner and union member of the International Union of Painters and Allied Trades for over 30 years, along with my positions on the House Committee on Appropriations and Committee on Education and Labor, I will always fight to protect the needs of Wisconsinites and working families nationwide.”

Representatives Joyce Beatty (D-OH), Jamie Herrera Beutler (R-WA), Sharice Davids (D-KS), Ron Estes (R-KS), Darin LaHood (D-IL), Scott Peters (D-CA), and David Trone (D-MD) were also selected today to join the Joint Economic Committee chaired by Representative Don Beyer (D-VA) in the 117th Congress. Senators Mike Lee (R-UT), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Rob Portman (R-OH), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Kelly Loeffler (R-GA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Gary Peters (D-MI), and Maggie Hassan (D-NH) were all members of the Joint Economic Committee in the 116th Congress.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email