MADISON — The Association of Wisconsin School Administrators has named Dr. Anuradha Ebbe as its 2022 Wisconsin Secondary Principal of the Year..

Dr. Ebbe has served as principal of Cherokee Heights Middle School in the Madison Metropolitan School District for the past two years. During that time, she has focused on viewing diversity as a strength, implementing even disciplinary practices and incorporating antiracist practices into the school.

CHMS is a Title I school that offers both an English Language Immersion program and a Spanish dual language immersion program. Its students come from diverse racial and socio-economic backgrounds, with as many as 13 languages spoken at the school in any given year.

One of Dr. Ebbe’s first steps upon taking on the principal role was to engage the school community into a conversation centered on the book, “Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You,” by Jason Reynolds and Ibram X. Kendi. The school used grant funds to purchase 750 copies of the book, and differentiated lessons were crafted for students and parents. Families shared that the book was transformative learning and students identified instances of racism they experienced and voiced recognition of the need to lift each other. Staff members articulated how systemic racism has impacted teaching and learning.

Dr. Ebbe’s leadership has resulted in a school culture committed to antiracism and a healthy, safe and engaged learning environment.

“On behalf of AWSA, I am thrilled to recognize Dr. Anuradha Ebbe with the Wisconsin Secondary Principal of the Year Award,” said Jim Lynch, executive director of AWSA. “During her time at Cherokee Heights, Dr. Ebbe has been willing to have difficult conversations with students, staff and families that ultimately lead to a healthier, positive and more inclusive culture at her school. As a result, the school has made notable improvements and has navigated the many challenges of the pandemic in truly thoughtful and effective ways. This honor is certainly well deserved.”

Each year, teachers, parents, staff and administrators are asked to nominate principals for the award. The winners are selected by a committee made up of representatives of parents, and classroom, school, and district leaders.

Prior to serving as principal of CHMS, Dr. Ebbe was principal of Shorewood Hills Elementary School in MMSD. She began her career in education as a high school science and math teacher.

Dr. Ebbe received a public education leadership certificate from Harvard University and an Ed.D. in educational administration from Edgewood College. She also holds a bachelor’s degree in medical microbiology and immunology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Supported by the Meemic Foundation, the Principal of the Year award recognizes school leaders who have helped drive student learning, foster instructional collaboration and create safe and positive school environments. Recipients are selected based on their dedication to professional excellence, leadership skills and service to their communities. To learn more about the award, visit

Print Friendly, PDF & Email