MILWAUKEE – Yesterday Alderman José G. Pérez was unanimously elected President of the Milwaukee Common Council, becoming the first Latino to hold this position. Milwaukee County Supervisors Peter Burgelis, Felesia A. Martin, Juan Miguel Martinez, Shawn Rolland, Liz Sumner, Steve F. Taylor, Kathleen Vincent, Dyango Zerpa, and Chairwoman Marcelia Nicholson released the following statement congratulating President Pérez:

“Congratulations to Alderman Pérez on being elected to lead the Milwaukee Common Council. We know the new Common Council President to be a dedicated public servant and mentor who actively reaches out to as many constituents as possible. He is someone who fights for his neighbors and is a leader on issues such lead mitigation and neighborhood improvement. We look forward to working with him and his colleagues on the many shared areas of interest between the Board of Supervisors and Common Council.”

President Pérez was first elected to represent District 12 on the Common Council in 2012. He has chaired the council’s Zoning, Neighborhoods, and Development Committee since 2020.

He previously served in multiple roles with the City of Milwaukee including as an Economic Development Specialist in the Department of City Development and a Program Officer for the Community Development Grants Administration.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email