MADISON — Four Wisconsin high school seniors have received national recognition for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields. The students are among 161 from across the nation named 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars today by the U.S. Department of Education.
Wisconsin students named 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars are:
  • David E. Arthur, Marquette University High School (Milwaukee)
  • ** Daphne Joyce Wu, Middleton High School (Middleton)
  • Ananya Krishna, James Madison Memorial High School (Madison)
  • ** Cameron David Pokorny, Waupun Senior High School (Waupun)
** indicates student is a U.S. Presidential Scholar in career and technical education
The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, established in 1964, recognizes and honors the nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as a demonstrated commitment to community service and leadership. In April, the U.S. Department of Education named 17 Wisconsin students semifinalists for the program.
The class of 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be recognized for their achievement this summer with an online recognition program. For more information on the program and for a full list of scholars, visit the program’s website.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email