Governor Tony Evers welcomed the newest officers to the Wisconsin State Patrol after 37 graduates received their badges at a ceremony in La Crosse on Thursday.

The graduates will join nearly 500 sworn officers assigned to State Patrol’s seven regional posts across Wisconsin.

As keynote speaker for the graduation ceremony, Gov. Evers celebrated the new officers’ commitment to service.

“Graduations have been a big part of my life as an educator. These milestones are an opportunity to think about why we are here and what we value, and where we have yet to go,” Gov. Evers said. “I have no doubt that this class of graduates will go above and beyond to serve their communities and our state, and I want to express my deep gratitude to them and to their families and instructors who helped them get here today.”

The mission of State Patrol officers is to support public safety on Wisconsin highways by enforcing traffic laws, responding to incidents, helping stranded drivers, inspecting commercial motor vehicles, working to combat illegal drugs and human trafficking, and supporting Wisconsin’s homeland and emergency response strategies.

“We will never know the number of crashes that didn’t happen because of State Patrol’s efforts, or the families who are alive and safe today because troopers were doing their jobs. But we do know motorists are safer on our roads in large part because of the vital mission of the Wisconsin State Patrol,” Wisconsin Department of Transportation Secretary Craig Thompson said.

The 67th Recruit Class recently completed 26 weeks of comprehensive training at the Wisconsin State Patrol Academy, focusing on traffic and criminal laws, emergency vehicle operations, firearms proficiency, communications, crisis management and lifesaving skills.

“You’ve been through a lot in the past six months. You’ve learned a lot. Each day at the Academy – the lessons you learned and skills you acquired – ensures you now have what it takes to become a valued public servant to the great communities across our state,” State Patrol Superintendent Anthony Burrell told the graduates.

State Patrol troopers and inspectors serve in a variety of roles, including crash reconstruction experts, airplane and drone pilots, dignitary protection, K9 and motorcycle officers.

Wisconsin State Patrol is still accepting applications for the next round of officers, who will begin training at the Academy on January 3, 2023. The application period for the 68th Recruit Class ends on July 8. Find more information online.

The new officers of the 67th Recruit Class are listed below, along with their hometowns and assignments as new troopers. They will now receive 12 weeks of on-the-job field training in their assigned counties.

Watch the recorded graduation ceremony on Wisconsin State Patrol’s Facebook page.

Photos of the graduates will be available to download here next week:




Eric Adelmeyer

Lomira, WI

Winnebago County

Jack Barker

Warren, IL

Columbia County

Giordano Bartolutti

Hartland, WI

Racine County

Kali Brathol

Menomonie, WI

Jackson County

Corey Bremberger

Slinger, WI

Columbia County

Caleb Briel

Hillsdale, WI

Barron County

Richard Callus

Leicestershire, UK

Racine County

Kevin Capek

Cornell, WI

Juneau County

Davin Cotter

Chicago, IL

Monroe County

Matthew Crowl

Schaumberg, IL

South Dane County

Zachary Freiberg

Wausau, WI

Juneau County

Santosh Gering

Mosinee, WI

Marinette County

Joseph Gilltrap

Hemet, CA

St. Croix County

Kyle Hanneman

Stevens Point, WI

Marathon County

Matthew Jankowski

Withee, WI

Price County

Jon Keller

Stevens Point, WI

Marathon County

Owen Kies

Random Lake, WI

Kenosha County

Joshua King

Bridgetown, Barbados

Monroe County

Hayden Knox

Oconto, WI

Jackson County

Megan Kronschnabel

Manitowoc, WI

Columbia County

Zachary Lind

Hibbing, MN

Douglas County

Andrew Lyyski

Waupun, WI

Fond du Lac County

Eli Morhardt

Lena, IL

Rock County

Jacob Morris

Racine, WI

South Dane County

Cody Nicholson

Oshkosh, WI

Sauk County

Evan Pahl

Hustisford, WI

Columbia County

Kyle Punzel

Jefferson, WI

Rock County

Bradley Ritger

Fall Creek, WI

Dunn County

Trebor Rusch

Appleton, WI

Columbia County

David Scheel

Onalaska, WI

Juneau County

Jacob Schroeder

Oswego, IL

Rock County

Andrew Seitz

Ashland, WI

Ashland County

Kyle Simon

Cross Plains, WI

Columbia County

David Welling

Escanaba, MI

Fond du Lac County

Timothy Williams

Rochester, MN

Juneau County

David Yaggia

Caracas, VE

South Dane County

Randall Zais

Eau Claire, WI

St. Croix County

Print Friendly, PDF & Email