WisconsinEye screenshot

Former Assembly candidate Ieshuh Griffin now will appear on the Milwaukee mayoral ballot, but election commissioners denied her challenges to nomination papers for Sen. Lena Taylor and acting Mayor Cavalier Johnson.

Griffin is the seventh name added to the ballot after the Milwaukee Election Commission restored four signatures and recommended restoring another 88. Griffin now has 1,516 valid nomination signatures, landing her a spot on the Feb. 15 primary ballot.

Milwaukee Election Commission Executive Director Claire Woodall-Vogg in a letter to the Wisconsin Elections Commission said Griffin’s two corrective affidavit’s submitted days after the Jan. 11 nomination paper deadline contributed to her recommendation.

“Although unusual, Ms. Griffin has presumably provided accurate corrections to the electors’ addresses in her affidavit,” she said. “All addresses were verified to be within the City of Milwaukee.”

Griffin on Jan. 6 submitted 1,564 nomination signatures and then another 30 on Jan. 10. Election workers initially validated 1,424 signatures, below the 1,500 required to get on the ballot.

But in a meeting last night election commissioners unanimously denied Griffin’s challenges alleging Taylor and Johnson left nomination papers unattended at restaurants, which would disqualify those signatures under state law.

Election workers found video footage of the incidents Griffin referred to, but they could not confirm which nomination papers of the hundreds of papers submitted were left unattended, according to the meeting agenda.

Woodall-Vogg also last night in a random ballot draw selected the order in which the candidates will appear on the ballot:

– Robert Donovan
– Ieshuh Griffin
– Michael Sampson
– Lena Taylor
– Earnell Lucas
– Marina Dimitrijevic
– Cavalier Johnson

See Woodall-Vogg’s letter, the meeting agenda and challenges here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email