Lt. Governor Mandela Barnes and First Lady Kathy Evers will recognize outstanding volunteers, AmeriCorps members and AmeriCorps Seniors that have gone beyond the call of duty to help our fellow Wisconsinites at the 2022 Governor’s Service Awards.


This year, we will honor fourteen individuals and one organization from throughout the state for their outstanding volunteerism and service. Additionally, we will recognize 49 AmeriCorps Seniors volunteers who have reached the milestone of 20 years of service for their fellow Wisconsinites.


The honorees’ service addressed critical issues impacting Wisconsin communities throughout the last year, including COVID-19 response, academic and social support gaps for students, substance abuse and chronic health conditions, food insecurity and nutrition, and filling gaps in support for populations throughout the state.


The Governor’s Service Awards ceremony, will be held at the Olbrich Botanical Gardens (3330 Atwood Ave, Madison, WI 53704) at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, May 26, 2022.  First Lady Kathy Evers and Lt. Governor Mandela Barnes will be opening the ceremony with remarks and presenting the awards to the 2022 honorees.


The Governor’s Service Awards are organized by Serve Wisconsin, the state board responsible for supporting the work of AmeriCorps programs and promoting volunteerism throughout the state.  A list of 2022 honorees and their programs are included below, with additional information about the Governor’s Service Awards, including past winners, available at





AmeriCorps Member of the Year Honoree:

Angel Brown – Marshfield Clinic Health Systems AmeriCorps – Recovery Corps (Rhinelander, WI)


AmeriCorps Member of the Year Honoree:

David Lee Schneider – Dept. of Public Instruction AmeriCorps Farm to School Program (Oconto, WI)


AmeriCorps VISTA Member of the Year Honoree: 

Neel Karody – Wisconsin Association of Free and Charitable Clinics (Milwaukee, WI)


AmeriCorps Alumni of the Year Honoree:

Ben Rangel – originally served with College Possible Milwaukee (Milwaukee, WI)


AmeriCorps Seniors Volunteer of the Year Honoree:

Sharon Ludlum – Southwestern Wisconsin Community Action Program – Foster Grandparent Program (Belmont, WI)


AmeriCorps Seniors Program of the Year Honoree:

RSVP of Dane County (Madison, WI)


AmeriCorps Seniors Lifetime Impact Volunteer Honoree:

Ed Hansen – RSVP of Rock County (Beloit, WI)


AmeriCorps Seniors Lifetime Impact Volunteer Honoree:

Lorraine Schluter – CESA 10 Foster Grandparent Program (Augusta, WI)


Volunteer of the Year – East Central Wisconsin: 

Bill Jartz – Volunteer Center of Brown County (Maribel, WI)


Volunteer of the Year – East Central Wisconsin:

Carol Schumacher – Women’s Empowerment Series (Fond du Lac, WI)


Volunteer of the Year – Northeast Wisconsin:

Debra Moore-Gruenloh – Special Olympics Wisconsin (Rudolph, WI)


Volunteer of the Year – Northwest Wisconsin:

Nannette Hendry – Spooner Memorial Library (Spooner, WI)


Volunteer of the Year – Southeast Wisconsin:

Marisol Perez – Journey Disaster Response Team (Racine, WI)


Volunteer of the Year – Southwest Wisconsin:

Joe Byrnes – Goodwill SCWI Volunteer Income Tax Assistance Program (Mount Horeb, WI)


Volunteer of the Year – West Central Wisconsin:

Marti Clark – Coulee Region RSVP (La Crosse, WI)



AmeriCorps Seniors Volunteers with 20 Years of Service




ADVOCAP Foster Grandparent Program

Mary Fleischman


Coulee Region RSVP

Cynthia Ann Gluch

Laura Hubert

Carol Lee

Phyllis Miletto

Judy Ostreng

Dolores Roach

Gordon Stewart


Northwest Wisconsin Community Services Agency RSVP 

Lorraine Young 

RSVP of Dane County

Nancy J. Allen

Margaret Bambrough

Frank M. Borucki

Charles Bunge

Joanne Bunge

Shirley Coulter

Gloria R. Davies

Alexandra Degrandis

Therese Duranso

Sharon Englerth

Peggy C. Hallmark

Katherine Herrin

Isabel Hubbard

Donna Lindauer

Mary Ann Lynch

Irene Morschauser

Larry R. Noyce

Jerald C. Remy

Margie Rohlfing

Susan Sorrentino

Joyce Trolinger

Margaret Van Weelden

Marie Vent

Carol Waelti

Jill D. Wheeler

Barbara Williams


RSVP of Portage County

Nona Higgins

Kathy Negaard

Ron Odejewski

John Picconatto

Sue Stenstrom


RSVP of Rock County

John Kalkirtz

Darlene Nelson

Dave Peltier

Jane Sholes

Roger Stenberg


Southwestern Wisconsin Community Action Program Foster Grandparent Program

Sally Vyvyan


Volunteer Fox Cities RSVP

Germaine Ambrosius

Berdella Bogard

Virginia Pflanzer

Print Friendly, PDF & Email