MADISON – On Tuesday, January 25th, at the nomination of Rep. Katrina Shankland (D-Stevens Point), the Wisconsin State Assembly will recognize Amherst Fire Chief Victor Voss and Assistant Fire Chief Brian Swan as “Hometown Heroes” during its scheduled floor session.

Rep. Katrina Shankland nominated Chief Voss and Assistant Chief Swan because of their work together on 2021 Wisconsin Act 115, a new Wisconsin law that created an emergency response zone around the scene of roadway accidents to help keep first responders and roadside workers safe from reckless drivers. Rep. Shankland first drafted and introduced this bipartisan legislation during the 2019-20 session and reintroduced the bill with legislative colleagues in the 2021-22 legislative session. Assistant Chief Swan and Chief Voss were driving forces behind the legislation and came to the State Capitol multiple times to testify in support of the bill. With the help of a huge bipartisan coalition of legislators, first responders, and stakeholder organizations from across the state, the bill passed and was signed into law by Governor Tony Evers in Amherst in December 2021.

Rep. Katrina Shankland stated, “I am pleased to have nominated Chief Voss and Assistant Chief Swan for one of the highest honors awarded by the Wisconsin State Assembly, and I am grateful for the opportunity to recognize their efforts, because they’re truly our Hometown Heroes. From our first meeting in August 2018 to the governor signing our legislation into law as Act 115 at the Amherst Fire District in December 2021, I have enjoyed working closely with Chief Voss and Assistant Chief Swan.

“Their continued advocacy in the Legislature to initiate and pass a bill into law to protect first responders and roadside workers truly demonstrates the power of every person’s voice and the magnitude of difference a person can make in our community and state. Our first responders have demonstrated tremendous leadership in initiating this bill, and I sincerely thank them for their tireless efforts to get this bill introduced, passed, and signed into law over the last three plus years, as well as the many ways they serve our community every day to keep us safe. Please join me in congratulating Amherst Fire Chief Voss and Assistant Chief Swan for this well-deserved recognition – they have made us so proud!”

The Assembly Hometown Heroes program recognizes individuals from around the state who make a difference in our communities and in the lives of those around them. The Wisconsin State Assembly created the Hometown Heroes program to identify and recognize individuals from around the state who are working to make their communities a better place. Award winners are invited to the State Capitol and given an opportunity to speak on the Assembly floor as a special guest. The proceedings will begin at approximately 1:00 p.m. on January 25th, and will be streaming live on

Print Friendly, PDF & Email