MADISON – The Wisconsin State Assembly will recognize World War II veterans Elmer Wisherd and Clarence Stine as “Hometown Heroes” during its upcoming floor session on February 22nd.


Wisherd and Stine, who were nominated by their state representative James ‘Jimmy Boy’ Edming (R-Glen Flora), served their nation heroically during the Second World War and have volunteered extensively throughout their communities during their lifetimes.

“Serving in World War II is already a noble feat worthy of recognition,” said Assembly Majority Leader Jim Steineke (R-Kaukauna) who selected them for the award. “Yet, Elmer and Clarence, who are both centenarians, have continued to serve their communities for over 70 years – something that is truly remarkable.”

Following the war, Wisherd became involved in his local community, serving as chairman for his church and on the Tony School Board. However, he never forgot his sense of duty. Wisherd dedicated nearly 35 years to the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) and worked with several other organizations to help veterans and those returning from war.

Stine was discharged from the military with several awards and medals, including a Purple Heart and a Bronze Star. Following this decorated career, he went to work for the Ladysmith School District. Stine also became active in his local church and VFW post. He has been a member of VFW Post 2490 for over 75 years, holding every position in the organization at some point.

“Clarence Stine and Elmer Wisherd are the definition of true American heroes both in their defense of our country during World War II and back here at home in Wisconsin,” said Representative Edming. “I’ve known them both personally for many years and I can’t think of anyone more deserving of the Hometown Hero Award than them.”

Wisconsinites have a long, prominent history of community service and selflessness. In keeping with this tradition, the Wisconsin State Assembly created the Hometown Heroes program to identify and recognize individuals from around the state who are working to make their communities a better place. Award winners are invited to the State Capitol and given an opportunity to speak on the Assembly floor as a special guest.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email