Madison… Senator Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan) and Representative Nancy VanderMeer (R-Tomah) introduced a bill that authorizes Wisconsin to join the Occupational Therapy Licensure Compact. This legislation was signed into law as 2021 Wisconsin Act 123. Wisconsin is the 10th state to ratify and enter into this compact, therefore activating and allowing it to establish rules and systems to begin issuing compact privileges.

Interstate compacts provide flexibility and enhanced mobility to practitioners by providing uniform regulation and standards of practice. They also provide for greater access and continuity of care for patients.

Under this legislation occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants from one member state will be able to practice in another member state via a “compact privilege”.

“Enacting this legislation will streamline communication and licensing across states so hospitals and clinics can more quickly hire to fill vacancies or connect patients with care through telehealth,” said Ballweg. “This is especially important in a time where occupations across the board are struggling with workforce issues.”

This compact was developed by the Council of State Governments, the American Occupational Therapy Association, National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy and staff and legal experts from around the country.

“Wisconsin will benefit from greater access to the important specialized care occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants can provide,” said Ballweg.

Wisconsin joins Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, Georgia, North Carolina, Missouri, Maine, Colorado and New Hampshire in enacting this compact. For a list of states with pending legislation and more information on the Occupational Therapy Licensure Compact, visit

To reach Sen. Ballweg with questions or comments please call (608) 266-0751 or email The 14th Senate District is located in Central Wisconsin, and is composed of parts of Adams, Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Juneau, Marquette, Outagamie, Sauk, Waupaca, and Waushara counties.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email