MADISON… State Sen. André Jacque (R-De Pere) today is proud to announce that the Wisconsin State Senate will again offer the Senate Scholar Program next year, and urged 1st District students to apply by the November 15, 2022 deadline.

“The Senate Scholar Program is a leading initiative designed to challenge Wisconsin’s best students,” Sen. Jacque said.  “It is a truly unique, hands-on educational experience for high school juniors and seniors interested in the state legislative process.” 

The Senate Scholar Program consists of an advanced government curriculum that includes classroom instruction, roundtable discussion sections, and a lab component.  Experts teach Scholars about constituent relations, research and development of legislation, and bill drafting.  Scholars also engage in roundtable discussions with legislative support agency directors and staff, media, and lobbyists throughout the week, resulting in further insight into all facets of the legislative process. 

Sen. Jacque said the program culminates in a mock committee hearing that includes testimony from experts and members of the public. 

“Scholars have the opportunity to put all they have learned into action after staffing the Senate Floor during session and watching debate on legislation,” Sen Jacque said.  “Scholars draft their own bills and amendments, form their own committee, and elect committee leadership.”

Sen. Jacque said one student from each of the 33 Senate Districts may participate in the week-long program in Madison.

“Although the program is rigorous, fun evening activities are planned for participants,” Sen. Jacque said.  “Senate Scholars stay near the state Capitol at the Concourse Hotel in downtown Madison.”

Applications need to be received no later than November 15, 2022.  A digital copy of the application and more information can be found at:

“Any interested students who have questions about the Senate Scholar program should feel free to contact my office,” Sen. Jacque said. 

Sen. André Jacque represents Northeast Wisconsin’s First Senate District, consisting of Door and Kewaunee Counties and portions of Brown, Calumet, Manitowoc, and Outagamie counties.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email