MONONA, Wis. – Today, Supervisor Sarah Smith announced that all eight Democratic women that represent Dane County in the State Legislature have endorsed her for re-election to the Dane County Board.

Senator Melissa Agard, Senator Kelda Roys, Senator Janis Ringhand, Representative Lisa Subeck, Representative Dianne Hesselbein, Representative Francesca Hong, Representative Sondy Pope, and Representative Shelia Stubbs have all endorsed Sarah.

“I am proud to endorse Sarah for re-election to the Dane County Board,” said Representative Subeck. “Sarah has a proven record of progressive values from standing for women’s rights to protecting clean water. She is a trusted leader that we can count on.”

Supervisor Smith has represented District 24 since she was elected to the Dane County Board in 2020. Prior to her service on the County Board, she has worked as an organizer for progressive causes like the Women’s March and served as Chair of the Young Democrats of Wisconsin. She has previously worked in the office of Senator Patty Schachtner and as Chief of Staff to State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski.

“Sarah stands out as one of the most effective leaders on the County Board, and I’m delighted to support her re-election campaign,” said Senator Roys. “Sarah’s long list of achievements as a Supervisor are a testimony to her work ethic, dedication, and progressive values. We are lucky to have her!”

In her first county budget, Supervisor Smith authored a successful $2 million amendment to support the City of Monona’s purchase of San Damiano. This project was awarded the Clean Lakes Alliance Urban Project of the Year award in 2020. The preservation of San Damiano has expanded public access to the waterfront and prevented development of the property that would have increased harmful run-off and flooding risk.

Over 40 elected officials and community leaders have endorsed Supervisor Smith’s re-election. The full list of endorsers is available here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email