With the final ballot now set, three Assembly candidates vying for open seats will face no major party candidate in either the primary or the general election.

Meanwhile, there are 31 seats in the Legislature where only one major party qualified candidates for the ballot.

In addition to ruling on challenges to nomination papers on Friday, the Elections Commission also gave final approval to those who will appear on the Aug. 9 ballot. The agency early Saturday posted the final roster for each office, including the order in which candidates will appear.

Along with having to file nomination papers by June 1 to qualify for the ballot, candidates had to turn in statements of economic interest by last week’s deadline.

The three Assembly candidates who won’t face a major party challenge for an open seat are:

*Republican Dave Maxey, a New Berlin alderman, in the open 15th AD.
*Dem Ryan Clancy, a Milwaukee County supervisor, in the open 19th AD.
*Republican Amy Binsfield, who works for her family-owned appliance, furniture and mattress business, in the open 26th AD.

Altogether, Dems didn’t field a candidate in 16 state Assembly seats, five state Senate seats and two congressional districts, the 6th and 8th CDs. Republicans don’t have a candidate in 10 Assembly seats.

The 31 legislative seats where one major party failed to qualify a candidate is up from 25 in the 2020 election cycle.

Meanwhile, 14 candidates face primary challenges, including longshot bids against U.S. Sen. Ron Johnson, R-Oshkosh, and U.S. Reps. Glenn Grothman, R-Glenbeulah, Tom Tiffany, R-Minocqua, and Mike Gallagher, R-Allouez.

Secretary of State Doug LaFollette is the only Dem incumbent who will face a primary challenger.

The GOP state lawmakers who face a primary are:

*Senate Majority Leader Devin LeMahieu, R-Oostburg;
*Sen. Van Wannggard, R-Racine;
*State Rep. Joel Kitchens, R-Sturgeon Bay;
*Rep. Tyler August, R-Lake Geneva;
*Rep. Rob Brooks, R-Saukville;
*Assembly Speaker Robin Vos, R-Rochester;
*Rep. James Edming, R-Glen Flora;
*Rep. Treig Pronschinske, R-Mondovi;
*Rep. Loren Oldenburg, R-Viroqua.

See the final list of candidates who qualified for the ballot here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email