WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) joined a bipartisan group of Senators in introducing the Non-Recognition of Russian Annexation of Ukrainian Territory Act to bolster support for Ukraine and defend against efforts to force Ukraine to give up its sovereign territory. The legislation would require U.S. policy to not recognize any Russian claim of sovereignty over any portion of the internationally recognized territory of Ukraine and prohibit any federal department or agency from taking any action or extending any assistance that implies recognition of Russian claims over Ukraine.

“The United States must continue standing strong with Ukraine and provide them the support they need to defend against Putin’s war against freedom and help address the tragic humanitarian crisis for millions of innocent Ukrainians,” said Senator Baldwin. “This legislation has earned the support from Senators on both sides of the aisle because we are united in our stand against Russia’s unjust war and need to make clear that the U.S. will not recognize Russia’s claim to any Ukrainian territory it has illegally annexed.”

The legislation comes as Vladimir Putin announced plans to hold referendums in four Russian-occupied regions of Ukraine with the goal of annexing these regions into the Russian Federation. Announcing annexation is intended to paint Ukrainian efforts to restore its territorial integrity as aggressive actions against the Russian Federation so as to depress the West’s assistance to Ukraine.

The legislation was led by Senators Marco Rubio (R-FL) and Dick Durbin (D-IL) and also cosponsored by Senators Susan Collins (R-ME), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Rob Portman (R-OH), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), John Cornyn (R-TX), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Chris Coons (D-DE), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Bob Casey (D-PA), Angus King (I-ME), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Patty Murray (D-WA), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Jack Reed (D-RI), Ed Markey (D-MA), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), and John Hickenlooper (D-CO).

Full text of the legislation is available here.

An online version of this release is available here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email