MADISON, Wis. – Wisconsin’s private, nonprofit colleges who are members of the Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (WAICU) recognize the value of the experience, training, and education that veterans develop while they serve in the military. To make it easier for active duty and military veterans to see their options to transfer military experience into college credit, the WAICU Joint Commitment to Accept Student Military Transfer Credit is now accessible on

The Joint Commitment details how fifteen participating WAICU member institutions award transfer credit to veterans for Basic Training, Advanced Training, and/or for Defense Activity for Non-Traditional Education Support (DANTES) Subject Standardized Tests (DSSTs).

According to WAICU President Dr. Rolf Wegenke, “Wisconsin’s private, nonprofit colleges and universities have long served veterans and family members of veterans. The WAICU Joint Commitment to Accept Student Military Transfer Credit further demonstrates support for veterans as they enter and complete postsecondary education at Wisconsin’s private colleges and universities. Higher education is the gateway to opportunity, and this program recognizes that our veterans have earned their opportunity.”

WAICU-member institutions currently participating in this Commitment include: Alverno College, Bellin College, Beloit College, Carroll University, Concordia University Wisconsin, Edgewood College, Herzing University, Lakeland University, Marian University, Marquette University, Milwaukee School of Engineering, Northland College, Ripon College, St. Norbert College, and Viterbo University.

The ability to convert military experience and/or training into college credit can help accelerate the journey to a degree at a Wisconsin private college. This effort is important as the state strives to increase the level of educational attainment, address Wisconsin’s workforce shortages, and improve our position in the competitive knowledge economy.

About WAICU: The Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (WAICU) is the official organization of the 23 independent (or private) institutions of higher learning in Wisconsin. Membership is limited to accredited, nonprofit institutions, headquartered in Wisconsin. WAICU members collectively enroll more than 54,000 students and graduate almost 14,000 each year. WAICU members offer over 470 academic programs and produce 24 percent of all the bachelor’s degrees and 35 percent of all the advanced degrees awarded in the state. WAICU’s mission is: “Working together for educational opportunity.”

Learn More:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email