Last week, Speaker Vos and Senator LeMahieu announced standing committee appointments. 

“Leadership in both houses understand the need for a diverse perspective on their Agriculture committees. Agriculture can be complicated, and a wide-ranging set of interests must be considered to make good public policy. Representative Travis Tranel (R-Cuba City) and Senator Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan) are tremendous advocates for farmers, and we look forward to working with them this session,” said Cindy Leitner, President of Wisconsin Dairy Alliance. 

“The ag committees include legislators who are large dairy farmers, business owners, experts in local government, and have a passion for protecting the environment while bolstering our farmers. This is exactly the representation we need in our Capitol, and we are grateful for the appointments,” said Kim Bremmer of Venture Dairy Cooperative.

“Nearly all committees impact the operations of our members, especially the Joint Finance Committee, Environment, Natural Resources, Transportation and the Joint Committee on the Review of Administrative Rules. Committee membership of each of these committees demonstrates that farmers have allies in our legislative leaders. Farmers are clearly a priority for Speaker Vos and Leader LeMahieu,” continued Bremmer. 

Majority Agriculture Committee appointments are as follows:

Senate Committee on Agriculture and Tourism

Senator Joan Ballweg, Chair
Senator-elect Cory Tomczyk, Vice-Chair
Senator Howard Marklein, Member
Senator Patrick Testin, Member
Senator-elect Romaine Quinn, Member

Assembly Committee on Agriculture

Representative Travis Tranel, Chair
Representative Loren Oldenburg, Vice-Chair
Representative-elect Karen Hurd, Member
Representative Joel Kitchens, Member
Representative Clint Moses, Member
Representative Jeff Mursau, Member
Representative Todd Novak, Member
Representative-elect Ellen Schutt, Member
Representative-elect Peter Schmidt, Member
Representative Nancy VanderMeer, Member

For a full list of committee appointments please see the releases from Speaker Vos and Senator LeMahieu.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email