MADISON, Wis. – The Volunteers for Agriculture® Committee is a legally-constituted political action committee established by Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation. The committee, consisting of 18 Farm Bureau members across the state, endorsed 57 candidates in this year’s mid-term election.

“With most elections now finalized, we are looking forward to working with those elected to public office in 2023,” said Wisconsin Farm Bureau President Kevin Krentz. “While not all VFA-endorsed candidates prevailed, we will continue to build relationships with all elected officials and advocate on behalf of Wisconsin’s farmers.”

Krentz added, “We plan to continue our mutual support of Wisconsin farmers and agriculture with Governor Tony Evers. Governor Evers’ support of agricultural exports, farmer support funding, meat processing expansion and farmer-led conservation efforts keep Wisconsin agriculture moving forward and we look forward to continuing to work with Governor Evers during the next four years on behalf of our state’s farmers.”

Since 1990, the VFA has helped elect candidates who work for agriculture interests in Madison. The VFA builds strong relationships with legislators of both parties to help us achieve our legislative priorities.

Volunteers for Agriculture® is effective because they engage with and endorse candidates that look out for agriculture’s interests. In the 2022 general election cycle, VFA-endorsed candidates won 93% of their races.

The following VFA-endorsed candidates have been elected to office in 2022:

State Senate

  • André Jacque (R-DePere), 1st Senate District
  • Rob Hutton (R-Brookfield), 5th Senate District
  • Devin LeMahieu (R-Oostburg), 9th Senate District
  • Steve Nass (R-Whitewater), 11th Senate District
  • Mark Sprietzer (D-Beloit), 15th Senate District
  • Howard Marklein (R-Spring Green), 17th Senate District
  • Rachael Cabral-Guevara (R- Appleton), 19th Senate District
  • Van Wanggaard (R-Racine), 21st Senate District
  • Jesse James (R-Altoona), 23rd Senate District
  • Romaine Quinn (R-Cameron), 25th Senate District
  • Cory Tomczyk (R-Mosinee), 29th Senate District
  • Chris Kapenga (R-Delafield), 33rd Senate District

State Assembly

  • Joel Kitchens (R-Sturgeon Bay), 1st Assembly District
  • Ron Tusler (R-Harrison), 3rd Assembly District
  • Evan Goyke (D-Milwaukee), 18th Assembly District
  • Jessie Rodriguez (R-Oak Creek), 21st Assembly District
  • Paul Tittl (R-Manitowoc), 25th Assembly District
  • Terry Katsma (R- Oostburg), 26th Assembly District
  • Clint Moses (R- Menomonie), 29th Assembly District
  • Shannon Zimmerman (R-River Falls), 30th Assembly District
  • Ellen Schutt (R-Clinton), 31st Assembly District
  • Tyler August (R-Lake Geneva), 32nd Assembly District
  • Calvin Callahan (R- Tomahawk), 35th Assembly District
  • Jeff Mursau (R-Crivitz), 36th Assembly District
  • William Penterman (R-Columbus), 37th Assembly District
  • Mark Born (R-Beaver Dam), 39th Assembly District
  • Kevin Petersen (R-Waupaca), 40th Assembly District
  • Jon Plumer (R-Lodi), 42nd Assembly District
  • Travis Tranel (R-Cuba City) 49th Assembly District
  • Tony Kurtz (R-Wonewoc), 50th Assembly District
  • Todd Novak (R-Dodgeville), 51st Assembly District
  • Jerry O’Connor (R-Fond du Lac), 52nd Assembly District
  • Rick Gundrum (R-Slinger), 58th Assembly District
  • Ty Bodden (R-Hilbert), 59th Assembly District
  • Robert Brooks (R-Saukville), 60th Assembly District
  • Amanda Nedwski (R-Pleasant Prairie), 61st Assembly District
  • Robin Vos (R-Rochester), 63rd Assembly District
  • Rob Summerfield (R-Bloomer), 67th Assembly District
  • Nancy VanderMeer (R-Tomah), 70th Assembly District
  • Katrina Shankland (D-Stevens Point), 71st Assembly District
  • Scott Krug (R-Nekoosa), 72nd Assembly District
  • Angie Sapik (R-Superior), 73rd Assembly District
  • Chanz Green (R-Grand View), 74th Assembly District
  • Dave Considine (D-Baraboo), 81st Assembly District
  • Pat Snyder (R-Wausau), 85th Assembly District
  • John Spiros (R-Marshfield), 86th Assembly District
  • James Edming (R-Glen Flora) 87th Assembly District
  • John Macco (R-Ledgeview), 88th Assembly District
  • Elijah Behnke (R-Oconto), 89th Assembly District
  • Treig Pronschinske (R-Mondovi), 92nd Assembly District
  • Warren Petryk (R-Eleva), 93rd Assembly District
  • Steve Doyle (D-Onalaska), 94th Assembly District
  • Loren Oldenburg (R-Viroqua), 96th Assembly District

In addition to VFA’s endorsements, WFBF’s Board of Directors endorsed Senator Ron Johnson who was re-elected to the United States Senate.

“The VFA’s endorsements are extended to candidates who have agriculture’s best interests in mind,” said Krentz. “We are confident these legislators will represent the values of Wisconsin farmers and look forward to working with them during their terms.”

The Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation is the state’s largest general farm organization, representing farms of every size, commodity and management style.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email