(Madison, Wisconsin) Members of the Wisconsin Legislature were honored by the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA) at its annual Library Legislative Day gathering on February 8.

State Senator Mary Felzkowski (R-Irma) and Representative Amy Loudenbeck (R-Clinton), both members of the legislature’s Joint Committee on Finance, were named Library Legislative Champions for their ongoing support for Wisconsin libraries, particularly throughout the 2021-2023 budget process.  Thanks to their efforts, Wisconsin public libraries will benefit from an additional investment of $4 million state aid dollars for enhanced services in the areas of technology, workforce development and lifelong learning.  A Special Recognition Award was presented to Senator Felzkowski’s legislative aide Stamena Ivanov,

This year’s invited Library Legislative Day speakers were Governor Tony Evers, State Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Jill Underly, and State Librarian Tessa Michaelson Schmidt.

WLA members visit the capitol each February to share their success stories of the previous year with legislators, as well as celebrate the association’s anniversary. WLA’s first organizational meeting was held in the State Capitol on February 11, 1891.

“Library Legislative Day at the State Capitol offers the library community a wonderful opportunity to personally thank all legislators for continuing their outstanding support for Wisconsin libraries,” said WLA Executive Director Laura Sauser. “Our Library Champions have been instrumental in creating new opportunities for libraries to transform their communities through innovative programming, efficient sharing of resources, and essential services.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email