WAUKESHA—Today, a caucus of 22 lieutenant governors representing more than 165 million people, announced the formation of a Reproductive Freedom Coalition. The multi-state coalition will work together to protect and expand reproductive freedom and access to health care in the wake of unprecedented attacks following the decision to overturn Roe v. Wade.  

In the wake of extremist attacks on reproductive freedom in legislatures and courtrooms across the country, this coalition will serve as the firewall. Despite the unique nature of the situation in each state, this network will work as a united front to share model legislation and executive orders, methods for protecting health care providers from prosecution, ways to maximize federal funds for reproductive health care, and means of support for manufacturers of abortion medication and contraception as they face legal uncertainty. 

“Every person deserves the right to make their own reproductive health care decisions without interference from elected officials who know nothing about their faith, their family, or their circumstances,” said Lieutenant Governor Sara Rodriguez. “As a nurse and public health professional, I have witnessed the devastating effects for women and families who do not have access to a full range of reproductive care including prenatal, contraception, infertility, and abortion care. 

In Wisconsin, the assault on women continues through efforts to uphold the state’s unconstitutional and dangerous 1849 abortion ban, restrict access to contraception, outlaw medication abortion, and criminalize nurses and doctors for doing their jobs. To those seeking freedom and bodily autonomy—whether you’re a young professional deciding how to begin your career, a couple choosing when to start a family, or a mom raising your kids my message is simple: we respect reproductive rights in Wisconsin and in America. I am proud to stand with my colleagues across the country and will continue fighting to guarantee reproductive freedom in every state and for every person.”

The lieutenant governors who have joined the coalition are:  

●       Arizona Secretary of State Adrian Fontes 

●       California Lieutenant Governor Eleni Kounalakis 

●       Connecticut Lieutenant Governor Susan Bysiewicz 

●       Colorado Lieutenant Governor Dianne Primavera 

●       Delaware Lieutenant Governor Bethany Hall-Long

●       Guam Lieutenant Governor Josh Tenorio 

●       Hawaii Lieutenant Governor Sylvia Luke 

●       Illinois Lieutenant Governor Juliana Stratton 

●       President of the Maine Senate Troy Jackson 

●       Maryland Lieutenant Governor Aruna Miller 

●       Massachusetts Lieutenant Governor Kim Driscoll

●       Michigan Lieutenant Governor Garlin Gilchrist 

●       Minnesota Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan 

●       New Jersey Lieutenant Governor Sheila Oliver 

●       New Mexico Lieutenant Governor Howie Morales 

●       New York Lieutenant Governor Antonio Delgado 

●       Oregon Secretary of State Shemia Fagan 

●       Pennsylvania Lieutenant Governor Austin Davis 

●       Rhode Island Lieutenant Governor Sabina Matos 

●       Vermont Lieutenant Governor David Zuckerman 

●       Washington Lieutenant Governor Denny Heck 

      ●       Wisconsin Lieutenant Governor Sara Rodriguez 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email