WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Representative Mark Pocan (WI-02) was appointed by House Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries (NY-08) to a new task force on Agriculture and Nutrition. The task force will lay the groundwork for House Democrats’ priorities in the upcoming Farm Bill reauthorization. 

“The Farm Bill is one of the most vital pieces of legislation Congress must pass, and every five years it’s a debate between big agriculture vs. local farmers and nutrition assistance vs. draconian work requirements,” Rep. Pocan said. “Wisconsin farmers have been hit hard by the pandemic and corporate mergers, impacting our rural communities, food security, farmers’ livelihoods, and even how our food is grown. The next Farm Bill should protect local farmers and rural communities from greedy corporate interests and provide strong support for food assistance, including Meals on Wheels and SNAP, which is the number one program that keeps kids out of poverty. I will use my voice on this task force to fight for South Central Wisconsin farmers and their families. I am humbled by this appointment by Leader Jeffries and look forward to joining Chairman Thompson on this task force.”

“In the wealthiest country in the history of the world, no one in America should go hungry,” said Leader Jeffries. “Unfortunately, extreme MAGA Republicans in the House continue to relentlessly attack essential programs that address food insecurity among children and older Americans like SNAP, WIC and Meals on Wheels. This task force will help lead the way to push back aggressively. Equally significant, the task force will continue to honor our commitment to the farmers that feed our nation. From crop insurance to commodities and trade, agriculture policy forms an important pillar of our economy. We must ensure that our farmers have the resources needed to thrive in the 21st century. The Members appointed come from nearly every corner of our nation and bring a wide range of experience on both agriculture and nutrition issues. I am appreciative that Rep. Bennie Thompson has agreed to Chair the task force and will bring his leadership experience and policy expertise to this important work.”

Pocan will serve on the task force alongside Chair Bennie Thompson (D-Miss.), Jim McGovern (D-Mass.), Chellie Pingree (D-Maine), Lou Correa (D-Calif.), Sharice Davids (D-Kan.), Josh Harder (D-Calif.), Jahana Hayes (D-Conn.), and Kim Schrier (D-Wash.).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email