For Immediate Release – October 9, 2018

Contact – Sen. Howard Marklein – 608-588-5632, [email protected]

Spring Green, WI – State Senator Howard Marklein (R-Spring Green) today announced 109 local leaders throughout the 17th Senate District have officially endorsed his candidacy for re-election.

“I am honored and humbled that 109 leaders in our community have stepped forward to tell their families, friends and neighbors that they support me for re-election to the State Senate,” Marklein said. “The endorsement of mayors, sheriffs, local government officials, police chiefs and others tell me that we have done good work together. Their endorsement speaks volumes about their confidence in my role as their state senator.”

Marklein’s endorsements include:

Total Endorsements 109
Sheriffs 8
Chiefs of Police 4
County Board Chairs 2
County Board Members 19 in 6 counties
Mayors 4
City Council Members 12
Town Chairs 8
Town Supervisors 11
Village Presidents 5
Village Board Members 11
Clerks / Treasurers / Officials 17

The full list of endorsements follows and is sorted by county. These statistics and the lists are also available at

Grant County
Bill Bartlett, Trustee, Muscoda
Sheriff Nate Dreckman, Grant County
Doug Droessler, Supervisor, Paris
Marlene Esser, Clerk/Treas, Cassville
John & Karen Gander, Woodman
Robert Hessling, Trustee, Hazel Green
Bob Keeney, Chair, Grant County, Mt. Hope
David Lambert, Hwy Cmsr, Grant County
Chief Brent McDonald, Cassville Police
Todd Miller, Trustee, Woodman
Tom Riniker, Chair, Smelser
(Grant County, continued)
Brett Rollins, Alderperson, Lancater
Marie Rupp, Treasurer, Hazel Green
John Schindler, Supervisor, North Lancaster
Shauna Schneider, Trustee, Blue River
Buck Schott, President, Bagley
Patrick Schroeder, Chair, Liberty
John Stanek, Supervisor, Castle Rock
Mark Stead, Supervisor, Grant County
Chief Todd Stenner, Boscobel Police
Michael Tashner, Platteville
John Tranel, Trustee, Hazel Green
Rep. Travis Tranel, 49th Assembly District
David Varnam, Mayor, Lancaster
Dan VonFeldt, Alderperson, Lancaster
David Wiederholt, Trustee, Muscoda
Keevin Williams, President, Cassville

Green County
Louis Armstrong, Mayor, Monroe
Michael Boyce, President, Monroe
Chief Fred Kelley, Monroe Police
Craig Nolen, District Attorney, Green County
Sheriff Mark Rohloff, Green County
Karen Signer, Clerk, Cadiz
Joseph Snow, Supervisor, Green County
Richard Thoman, Monroe, Green County

Iowa County
Ronald Benish, Supervisor, Iowa County
David Blume, Supervisor, Dodgeville
Cheryl Delventhal, Trustee, Avoca
Stephen Delventhal, Avoca
Tom Faull, President, Linden
Dave Gollon, Iowa County, Dodgeville
Don Leix, Supervisor, Iowa County
Mel Masters, Supervisor, Iowa County
John Meyers, Chair, Iowa County
Rep.Todd Novak, Mayor, Dodgeville,
51st Assembly District
Sheriff Steve Michek, Iowa County
Curt Peterson, Supervisor, Iowa County
Mark Storti, Supervisor, Iowa County

Lafayette County
John Bartels, Supervisor, Lafayette County
Pam Bartels, Clerk, Wayne
Dave Certa, Shullsburg
Cindy Corley, Alderperson, Darlington
Donna Flannery, Lafayette County EMS
Jed Gant, Chair, Blanchard
Sheriff Reg Gill, Lafayette County
William Goepfert, Trustee, Argyle
(Lafayette County, continued)
Dave Gough, Alderperson, Darlington
Terry Hawkinson, Supervisor, Argyle
Keith Henry, Trustee, Belmont
Chuck Herbst, Chair, Gratiot
Larry Ludlum, Supervisor, Lafayette County
Jim Paquette, President, Shullsburg
Emmett Reilly, Councilman, Shullsburg
Aaron Wiegel, Clerk, New Diggings

Monroe County
Sheriff Scott Perkins, Monroe County
Chris Woggon, Treasurer, Clifton

Richland County
Scott Banker, Chair, Rockbridge
Sheriff Jim Bindl, Richland County
John Collins, Alderperson, Richland Center
Jerome Durst, Chair, Marshall
Marvin Joles III, Trustee, Lone Rock
Mike Kaufman, Mayor, Richland Center
Jean Nicks, President, Boaz
Glen Niemeyer, Supervisor, Ithaca
Rod & Helen Perry, Richland Center
Joel Rewald, Richland Center
Melanie Ring, Clerk, Marshall
Richard Wastlick, Chair, Dayton
Richard Weber, Richland Center

Sauk County
Fred Behn, Reedsburg
Rep. Ed Brooks, 50th Assembly District; Chair, Town of Reedsburg
Sheila Carver, Clerk/Treas, Plain, Bear Creek
Vern Demers, Trustee, Spring Green
David Estes, Mayor, Reedsburg
Harold Haag, Supervisor, Westfield
Donna Hahn, Clerk, Loganville
Doug Hill, Baraboo
Sheriff Chip Meister, Sauk County
Kurt Muchow, Supervisor, Excelsior
Brian Peper, Supervisor, Sauk County
Dale Plamann, Baraboo
Ray Ring, President, Village of Plain

Print Friendly, PDF & Email