Contact: Jordan Dunn
WASHINGTON, D.C. — Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-WI) and Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR) today led 42 members of Congress in introducing a resolution opposing efforts to lift sanctions on Iran. The members released the following joint statement after introduction:
“Until the Iranian regime has put an end to its nuclear-weapon program and no longer sponsors terrorists, the U.S. must maintain sanctions. Iran took advantage of weak policies during the Obama Administration, and President Biden must not repeat those same mistakes.”
Cosigners of the resolution in the House include: Reps. Liz Cheney (R-WY), John Katko (R-NY), Chris Stewart (R-UT), Doug Lamborn (R-CO), Vicky Hartzler (R-MO), John Curtis (R-UT), Jack Bergman (R-MI), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA), Steve Chabot (R-OH), Glenn Grothman (R-WI), Stephanie Bice (R-OK), Jackie Walorski (R-IN), Steve Womack (R-AR), Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Matt Gaetz (R-FL), Rick Crawford (R-AR), Ted Budd (R-NC), Greg Steube (R-FL), and Ashley Hinson (R-IA).
Cosigners of the resolution in the Senate include: Senators John Barrasso (R-WY), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Roy Blunt (R-MO), John Boozman (R-AR), John Cornyn (R-TX), Kevin Cramer (R- ND), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Steve Daines (R-MT), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Josh Hawley (R-MO), John Hoeven (R-ND), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), James Lankford (R-OK), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), John Thune (R-SD), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), and Todd Young (R-IN).
In 2019, Cotton and Gallagher introduced a similar resolution to reaffirm support for U.S. policy barring Iran from developing or acquiring nuclear weapons and to reject sanctions relief.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email