MILWAUKEE _  Education company EAB has named the Milwaukee-Kenosha Moon Shot Region, which includes UW-Milwaukee, as the winner of its Student Success Collaborative-CONNECTEDness Award.

EAB’s CONNECTEDness Award recognizes an institution that builds relationships across institution types, connecting community colleges, four-year schools and the broader higher education community by forging connections in strategic and innovative ways to benefit students regardless of their institution.
This is the eighth year in a row that EAB has recognized outstanding achievements in student success. Awardees are chosen from among the colleges, universities and individuals that use Navigate, EAB’s student success management system, or Starfish, the student success platform EAB acquired earlier this year.

“Students, faculty, and campus staff are still learning how to access and deliver the right combination of online and in-person support services that are critical to student success,” said Scott Schirmeier, EAB’s president of technology.

“The winners of EAB’s 2021 Student Success Collaborative Awards have gone above and beyond in their mission to keep students on track to graduate at a time when the pandemic has completely upended the traditional student support model,” Schirmeier added.

Said UWM Chancellor Mark Mone: “We’re grateful for this recognition of our collaborative efforts with UW-Parkside, Milwaukee Area Technical College and Carthage College to eliminate equity gaps in college completion. Our efforts have led to an uptick in success rates for underrepresented students, including graduation rates.

“With the pandemic, our students need help like we have never seen before,” Mone said. “We don’t want to see generational impacts for those who are struggling. We want them to become rising stars.”

The following institutions and one individual were named winners of EAB’s 2021 Student Success Collaborative Awards:

Technology Pioneer Award 

  • Metropolitan State University of Denver
  • Sierra College

Return on Education Award

  • Tuskegee University

Collaborative Citizenship Award

  • University of the District of Columbia
  • Northeast Wisconsin Technical College

Visionary Leadership Award

  • Janice Stubbs, Vice Provost for Student Services, Broward College


The Milwaukee-Kenosha Moon Shot Region, made up of four institutions:

  • Carthage College
  • Milwaukee Area Technical College
  • University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee
  • University of Wisconsin–Parkside
The awards were presented at CONNECTED21, a three-day gathering, virtual this year, of thousands of student success leaders from progressive community colleges as well as four-year colleges and universities.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email